Applying for a New Driver’s License in New Jersey
Are you applying for a new driver’s license in New Jersey? The good news is, dealing with the DMV does not have to be a nightmare.
To make your application a lot easier than you expect, we provide you with links that will take you to different resources which can help you save time and get through the right direction. You can choose from the options given below to get started.
- Online application and Checklist download
- By mail, if eligible (read below for instructions)
- In person at your local DMV office
After graduating on all the stages of the Driver’s Permits or if you’re a new resident in New Jersey, applying for a new driver’s license might just be one of the first things to do to able to roam or rather, drive around freely. Of course, with New Jersey’s Graduated License System, all new drivers are required to acquire an examination permit before actually being granted a valid driver’s license. One final step before getting a valid driver’s license is being given a probationary license for one year.
Choosing the Right License
After all the requirements are met, the very first step in applying for a valid New Jersey driver’s license is choosing the right license according to the type of vehicle you drive. Class D is for the regular license for people driving pickup trucks and passenger vehicles.
Drivers who want to have commercial licenses can apply for Class A, B, C while motorcycle drivers can apply for Class E. Just as car owners have their own set of rules on getting driver’s permits and licenses, motorcycle drivers need to obtain a Motorcycle Permit. For more information regarding this matter, visit the local MVC Agency.
Legal aged drivers who just settled down from another state has to obtain a new license within 60 days. Drivers below 18 years old need to start over by undergoing the Graduated Driver Licensing process. Road knowledge tests are usually waived if you own a valid driver’s license. To transfer your license, these are the things you need to know:
- Visit the Motor Vehicle Commission Agency. Everything you need to know can be answered as soon as you go to the local MVC Agency. So make sure to ask all the necessary questions and take note of all the information you gather.
- Provide your proof of identity and present your out of state driver’s license. You don’t have to worry about losing the previous license you own, but in time you will still have to surrender it.
- Pay $10 for the permit fee
- Receive your examination permit. Regardless of age and driving expertise, getting into the Graduated Driver Licensing process is strongly advised.
Enrolling in the Graduated Driver Licensing System
Enrolling in a driver’s ed course is not a mandatory requirement but it will increase the chances of passing the written exams as well as the driver exams. This is especially true for drivers below the age of 18. These exams also helps experienced drivers aged 18 and above become better and responsible drivers, it might even help decrease insurance rates.
Even the most experienced driver can forget the rules of the road, so before taking the tests it is advisable for you to study the MVC Driver’s Manual and familiarize all the traffic laws. Practice tests are also provided to you to test your knowledge on the matter.
Always be prepared in acquiring the necessary requirements before heading out to the MVC Agency to take the tests. Be sure to provide a 6-point proof of identification , pass the vision and written tests and pay the required $10 fee for the permit. If, in case you fail the written test, you will have to wait for another week to retake it.
Drivers between 18 to 20 years old will have to practice driving for at least six months while drivers 21 and older will have to do so in only a matter of three months. To take the driving test, simply make an appointment at a participating MVC Agency office.
Once you pass the driving test, you will be granted a probationary driver’s license for a year. Once the duration of the probationary license is done, gather the necessary requirements such as a six-point identification, your license and a 24 dollar fee. Head on to any MVC Agency office and get your valid New Jersey driver’s license.
If you fail at passing the driving test, do not fret. You can always reschedule for a second time for at least two weeks. If you are not a resident of New Jersey or a citizen from the United States and you possess a temporary visa, you can get a new NJ driver’s license provided you have fulfilled all the necessary requirements. This can be done by:
- Passing two forms of valid identification according to the state’s six-point ID specification and proof of residency.
- Among other things, the MVC Agency needs to see a valid foreign license, proof of presence from the Naturalization Service and the US Immigration.
If you don’t have any or all of the aforementioned requirements, you need to begin by enrolling in New Jersey’s Graduated Driver Licensing program. The MVC will then issue your permit for license application once your identification has been cleared.